And we have lift off…

So I’ve decided to attempt blogging again.  I have had a couple of blogs for classes in the past, but I have to see any really take off (aka keep them up after class is over).  I admit I love the internet, so if anything this is sort of an online journal.  I hope that perhaps my trials and tribulations can influence those who come after me.  I realize that all the advice in the world doesn’t make student teaching easier, but I hope you understand that you are not alone.  Cause, holy crap, sometimes it gets lonely out here in student teaching land.

 

Straight up honesty: student teaching is the hardest thing I have ever done in my life.  Like I have never known stress like this.  I think I’m going to have a mental breakdown every other day. This is basically reality: Dog-memes-how-im-handling-life-right-now-2

 

But in the midst of the fiery, terribleness that is constant stress, so are my amazing students. Sometimes it’s awesome stick figure drawings that make a whole entire day worth it. Like come on, I love these kids…

 

Screen Shot 2015-02-19 at 9.18.34 PM

 

A month in, and I have experienced a ridiculous range of emotions.  From wanting to quit to being amazing at the intelligence of teenagers.  There are days when I feel defeated.  I feel like I poured my heart and soul into a lesson just to have 25 snap chats sent during what I thought was an amazing discussion.  But I’m slowly (and difficultly) learning that is the nature of the beast.  Remember when you were in high school? Remember when you didn’t care? Yeah I do sometimes.  Even though I was the kid who decided to be an English teacher at age 14.  Even my overachieving brain phoned in high school a lot of the time.  Whose didn’t?

 

Ok, so those are my general musings on the subject.  But I hope to use this as an outlet or resource for other student teachers.  Know that it is the hardest thing you will ever do, but if you love it, you will find a way.  Details of my insane placement are to come, but just know that if you are a good teacher, you will survive.  Not only will you survive, but you will learn a whole lot.  About teaching, but mostly about yourself.  I feel like I’ve been at my high school for a million years.  It’s been a month.  It’s an odd and scary feeling, but it’s good, too.

 

So stay posted.  More adventures to come…

 

Till next time, happy teaching.

10968451_10203652401062806_6257858245978859986_n

2 thoughts on “And we have lift off…

  1. I am so happy to see you blogging again! You have a great voice, one that makes even the difficulties of student teaching enjoyable to consume. Happy writing and teaching to you!!

    Like

  2. Best of luck with it all. I completed a post graduate degree in teaching last year. While it was an extremely hard year it was incredibly rewarding and totally worth it having being able to start my role as a teacher this year. Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment